April 27, 2019

Leo Arnold claims his first ENS pole position

Taking his 3rd TQ run in Q4 of 1/10th qualifying, Leo Arnold put the pole position starting spot out of the reach of his rivals, the Xray driver dominant this weekend so far save for his Q2 collision with a slowing Teemu Leino. Jilles Groskamp will start directly behind the French man tomorrow with Alessio Mazzeo, Eduardo Escandon and Teemu Leino completing the top half of the grid. ‘My first TQ, I am very happy, the hard work pays off’ was how Leo described his qualifying, continuing ‘my car is easy for the final, if I want to push I can push’. With his father checking over the tires from qualifying, they will make a final decision on tire strategy once they have all the data, no changes to his NT1 planned.

Pleased to secure 2nd but disappointed that they weren’t able to rectify an engine tuning problem in the last two rounds of qualifying, Jilles Groskamp used the final heat to practice his fuel stops with mechanic Armin after it was immediately apparent the tune was once again not good. With the engine now with Max Fantini to see if they can find the problem with his race motor, the Dutchman will have tomorrow’s A-main practice to see if the issue has been solved.

Despite a ‘stupid mistake’ at the start of the heat when he half spun his car just before the loop, Mazzeo was able to recover and take 2nd in Q4 and secure 3rd on the grid. Very happy with the pace of his Xray for the final, he will look for a little bit more steering in tomorrow’s A-main practice. Quick to congratulate his team mate Arnold, the Italian was very happy for his team, saying that they have been working a lot together to get the best from the new car.

‘I think it was OK’ was Eduardo Escandon’s description of his qualifying performance, the Spaniard feeling they are still missing the last little bit. Changing a number of things for the final run, the aim is to make the car more comfortable for the final. Teemu Leino ended qualifying with two 3rd place finishes from the first and last qualifier to end up in 5th with Thilo Tödtmann, Melvin Diekmann, Jakub Rozycki, Leonardo Varga and Sergi Franch Codina from Spain completing the main final direct qualifiers.

View the complete event results here.

View our event image gallery here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: