December 7, 2015

Euro Nitro Series releases 2016 calendar


The Euro Nitro Series has released details of its 2016 calendar with the third season of the hugely successful nitro onroad championship again set to run over four rounds. With almost 300 drivers from around the world registering championship points over the 2015 season, a growth of over 10% on its inaugural running in 2014, the ENS will take competitors to Italy, Austria and Germany.

Kicking off on April 22-24, the opening round will be hosted by legend of the sport & the ENS’ most winning driver Lamberto Collari.  Opened in 1978, L.Collari RC Raceway was the first ever permanent track to be built in Italy, a country widely recognised as the spiritual home of onroad racing. Making its first appearance on the calendar in 2015, it was at the Bologna track that Dario Balestri would score the first championship point of his successful 1:8 title winning season when he took the overall TQ.

After Bologna, the championship travels to Germany. A very popular addition to the 2015 calendar, Ettlingen moves to an earlier slot hosting Round 2 over the weekend of June 17-19.  With the 1:10 200mm World Chamionships taking place in August, the championship takes a two month break before resuming on September 2-4 in Austria.  The Aigen track witnessed one of the closest races in the ENS’ 8-race history with Teemu Leino taking his first win ahead of champion elect Jilles Groskamp and Dominic Greiner all three covered by just 6-seconds after 45-minutes of racing.

Attracting a record 156 entries when it hosted the 2015 season finale, the Mini Autodromo Jody Scheckter in Fiorano, Italy, will again be the concluding round of the championship. Round 4 will run on October 21-13. Running a different brand of handout tyre for each round, an element of the ENS which has contributed to its success, details of the 2016 tyre partners will be announced early in the new year.

2016 Euro Nitro Series Calendar (Season #3)
Round 1 – Bologna, Italy (22–24 April)
Round 2 – Ettlingen, Germany (17–19 June)
Round 3 – Aigen, Austria (02–04 September)
Round 4 – Fiorano, Italy (21–23 October)


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: